A: The short answer is “no”. This is one of the main differences and advantages of selling your home directly to professional property buyers. Our profits come after the sale transaction.
If selling your home to NRI through a real estate agent, there is of course the agent’s fee you negotiated. But there are never any sales fees or commissions from NRI whether you came to us from a local realtor or found us on your own or a referral.
If you accept our offer, you get to keep all of the leftover cash for your house, after any outstanding bank loans, liens and closing fees are paid.
Then you simply walk away without the burden of an unwanted property on your shoulders and hopefully a lot of much needed extra cash in your pocket. It’s that easy!
A: If a house is not in need of extensive repairs we can make offers that are near full retail, but if the home has a lot of different repairs we would need to receive a fair discount. This allows the property to be fixed up and resold to new owners, while making a modest profit.
We work with people in all kinds of situations who see the value in selling their property fast without commissions or costly repairs. Our company purchases real estate at a wide range of prices and helps owners get much needed cash out of their homes in the shortest amount of time, with no out-of-pocket expenses, which they commonly face when selling a house without an investor.
The convenience and simplicity of selling your home to professional house buyers can’t be matched, when compared to the alternative of slowly going broke on a property while waiting for a buyer, possibly ruining your credit or getting sued, while being constantly stressed out by calls from bill collectors.
We offer a winning solution for many property owners with limited options to otherwise liquidate the value in their homes. There’s never any pressure to accept our offer, so you can just walk away if the numbers don’t match up to your needs.
A: We’re so glad you asked this. Since we’re investors, we never list properties on the MLS. We buy houses that meet our criteria directly from the owners.
We buy houses across all 50 States, usually with a local representative, that fit into our short list of requirements. As professional house buyers, we either have houses fixed up or resell them for that purpose.
A: We often work with Realtors and find them to be professional and consider them to be valued members of our business platform.
However, if you are working with a realtor without an investor you should know real estate brokers and real estate agents make money off of property listings.
They can market your home for 6-12 months in most cases, which is the average time that it takes to sell a home in many areas today.
There is a commission on your home when and if it eventually sells, based on which agent finds a buyer for your property. With agent commissions averaging around 5%-6% of a home’s sales price, this can easily cost an owner thousands of dollars when you include all the possible additional fees you avoid when using an investor in the process of selling a home.
Homeowners in dire situations really can’t afford to wait to find a buyer for their home. That’s where professional property buyers like us come in. Our company can make an all-cash offer on your property and you can close the deal, pay off your mortgage and even possibly walk away with some much needed cash in your hand in a little as 30 days, instead of waiting months on end to get rid of your unwanted property.
We’re not like traditional buyers who comb over a foot-long checklist when buying a property. We’re not looking for a home in a certain neighborhood, a certain school district or a certain location close to our job.
We’re looking for properties with only one thing in mind: is it a good investment that we can quickly buy, repair and sell (or rent) for a profit?
A: Our fast house buying process is not complicated. We analyze the most recent comparable home sales in the area where your property is located to get an estimate of its current value.
Then we make adjustments to the price we can offer on your property based on its condition and any needed repairs.
This is the best way to come up with a fair price to offer for your property, since home values constantly fluctuate based on local real estate market conditions.
A: We’ll take a look at the information that you provided and may contact you by phone to get additional details about your situation and the property that you want to sell.
Then, after considering all of the specifics of your home, we’ll usually be able to come up with a fair and honest all-cash offer on your property that’s a win-win for both of us.
And once you have an offer from our company, there’s no obligation whatsoever for you to accept it.
We promise that the decision of whether or not to sell your home will always be totally left up to you.
If you do decide to sell your home to us, the process will go fast and you even get to pick a closing date that fits your schedule!
Many great ideas are coming from people worldwide who are seeking funding for a wide variety of needs, from starting up a new business, expanding an existing business, personal loans, alternative energy projects, the entertainment industry, the healthcare industry, and inventors, even movie ventures, on and on.
These ventures present an investor/lender with a chance to get in on the ground floor. Agreeing on terms with the funding seekers allows them to take advantage of these great ideas well ahead of other Investors/Lenders.
You can choose from the loans below that best fits your needs if you need a loan.
*Personal loan
*Business loan
*Mortgage/Home loan (New/Refinance/Bridge)
*First Responder Business Loans
*Veteran-owned Business Loans
* Auto/RV/Boat/Aircraft (New/Refinance)
*Title loan (Use your paid-off car equity as collateral)
* Student loan (Refinancing)
Our Direct Lenders also can help with:
* revolving credit lines * secured bridge financing
* purchase order financing * acquisition financing
* inventory loans * DIP and Exit Financing
* cash flow loans * real estate financing
* loan guarantees * international real estate
* conventional factoring * asset-based loans
* letter of credit financing * funding for healthcare providers
* equipment financing * equity participation
* Construction loans * unsecured loans personal credit of principal
* mezzanine financing * SBA loans
*144A Bond funding is a fast, low-cost, non-recourse way to finance many types of real estate and non-real estate projects, from $10 million on up.
Private equity investors
Hard money investors
Private investors/lenders
Angel invest
Venture capital (V/C)
Direct Lenders
Invention Investors
NON-Bank Lender
When a company wants to raise money for its operations, it can do so in one of four ways: 1. Taking a loan from a bank, 2. Accepting public fixed deposits, 3. Issuing debentures or loan bonds, and 4. Issuing preference and equity shares.
Within these, when the company wants to issue preference or equity shares, it can do so either by a. doing an IPO, b. issuing rights shares, or c. doing a private placement.
Private placement means that if the amount the company wants to raise is comparatively low and it wants to avoid incurring the cost of the issue, it may approach a few wealthy investors to invest their money in the company. So equity or preference shares are issued to a few people at a minimum cost. This is called private placement. Wealthy investors are called private equity investors.
Hard money lenders (HMLs) are typically private individuals or small groups that lend money (Hard money) based on the property you are buying, not on your credit score. Usually, these loans cost much more (percentage-wise) than an average mortgage, often up to twice what a regular mortgage does, plus high origination fees.
Developers and house flippers, amongst others, will use it to fund deals because you can often borrow up to 100% of your purchase price! On the other hand, hard money lenders will frequently require you to back up your loan with tangible assets. It is one way to go if you can buy a property and turn it quickly at a colossal profit and can’t get a standard mortgage. Some investors use hard money to get into the property, do some quick fixes to raise the property value, and then get a new loan (based on the property’s new, improved value) from a bank to pay off the hard money lender.
*Angel Investors:
An angel investor or angel (also known as a business angel or informal investor) is an affluent individual who provides capital for a business start-up, usually in exchange for convertible debt or ownership equity. A small but increasing number of angel investors organize themselves into angel groups or angel networks to share research and pool their investment capital.
(Also known as VC or Venture) is a type of private equity capital typically provided for early-stage, high-potential, and growth companies in the interest of generating a return through an eventual realization event such as an IPO or trade sale of the company. Venture capital investments are generally made as cash in exchange for shares in the invested company. It is typical for venture capital investors to identify and back companies in high-technology industries such as biotechnology and ICT (information and communication technology). Venture capital typically comes from institutional investors and high-net-worth individuals and is pooled together by dedicated investment firms.
Direct lending is a loan by a lender to a customer without using a third party; it gives the lender greater discretion in making loans.
Non-bank lenders located throughout the country obtain their funds not from deposits but rather from the sale of notes and bonds on Wall Street and through private investors. They are, therefore, able to take on more risk and provide financing for tougher transactions that do not qualify for bank financing. This includes companies that are in Chapter 11, that have losses or a negative net worth, or that may have a tax lien.
The term “fix and flip loans” refers to financing used by short-term real estate investors to purchase and renovate a property in order to sell it for a profit. Fix n flip funding for flipping properties offers investors fast closings for properties in any condition. Short-term loans can help real estate investors renovate a property and sell it fast. The most popular type of fix-and-flip loans are hard money loans.
The term “house flipping” is used by real estate investors to describe the process of buying, rehabbing, and selling properties for profit. In 2017, 207,088 houses or condos were flipped in the U.S., which is an 11 year high. – “2017 Home Flipping Report”. ATTOM Data Solutions.
Profits from flipping real estate come from either buying low and selling high (often in a rapidly rising market), or buying a house that needs repair and fixing it up before reselling it for a profit (“fix and flip”). Under the “fix and flip” scenario, an investor or flipper will purchase a property at a discount price. The discount may be because of:
the property’s condition (e.g., the house needs major renovations and/or repairs which the owner either does not want, or cannot afford, to do), or
the owner(s) needing to sell a property quickly (e.g., relocation, divorce, pending foreclosure).
Types of Fix & Flip Loans
Hard Money Loan
Cash-Out Refinance Loan
Home Equity Line of Credit
Investment Property Line of Credit
Bridge Loan
Permanent Bank Loan/Online Mortgage
Our fix and flip loans provide flexible terms for funding of up to 90% financing of the purchase price and up to 100% of the rehab costs of the project to the real estate investor who wants to purchase and renovate a residential or commercial real estate investment property. We offer hard money loans for fix and flip properties from $100,000 and up, with no prepay penalty and no limit on the number of properties.
Our Fix-N-Flip Financing Program Highlights
Fix and flips, distressed properties, and non-arm’s length transactions
Only 10% Down Payment Required (for qualified borrowers)
Loan amount $100,000+ (No Maximum Loan Amount)
6 months to 20 years term – interest-only, partially-amortized, and fully-amortized loans available.
First Time Investors OK
No tax returns for loans under $500,000, 85% LTV and 100% of cost, 600 minimum FICO
No hurdles- a very user-friendly and streamlined process
We offer loans for any type of real estate situation where a quick closing is needed. With just 24-hour turn-around times, you can get the money you need fast. With the right fix and flip loan provided you can have the cash you need at the earliest.
Apply online today to get the loan process started. If you have any questions about the fix n flip loans, please feel free to contact us today.
A commercial mortgage is a mortgage loan granted to different types of businesses secured by commercial property. Commercial loans are available for both owner-occupied and investor properties, including office building, shopping center, industrial warehouse, or apartment complex. Borrowers can have up to 90% commercial financing and unlimited cash out options. The proceeds from a commercial mortgage are typically used to acquire, refinance, or redevelop commercial property.
When getting a commercial mortgage consider nonrecourse vs. recourse loan. Non Recourse commercial mortgage can become very beneficial in certain situations. Such as in the event of default with a nonrecourse loan, the bank can only take back the property. If you still owe more money than the property is worth, you will not have to pay any more.
There are many different types of commercial loans available for them. Here are some of the various kinds and what they are used for.
Fixed Rate Mortgage (FRM)
Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM)
Balloon Mortgage
Interest Only Mortgage
A commercial property is a kind of real estate that is used only for business purposes. Commercial real estate loans allow businesses to purchase or renovate property and finance this through a loan. Another term for this is commercial mortgages, which basically means use of funds to finance commercial real estate for mixed-use buildings, retail centers, and office buildings.
Investment in Commercial real estate (CRE) offers numerous advantages over residential investments, and obviously the best reason to invest is the earning potential. Commercial properties are a smart way to generate a steady passive income stream. The value of a commercial property can be affected more by economic growth and production which have a direct impact on rents, demand and construction. This basically means the price of a small commercial property in most cases might be higher than a residential property.
Higher Earning Potential
Professional Tenants
Longer Lease Terms
Triple Net Leases
There are different loan options available to you when you are looking to finance commercial real estate along with specific criteria that must be met. Online independent lenders, large national banks, investor-only lenders, insurance companies, pension funds, private investors and the U.S. Small Business Administration’s 504 Loan program, provide funding for commercial real estate investments. Understanding and choosing the right kind of loan is critical because it can impact the bottom line.
A complete list is provided on the left side of this page, broadly commercial real estate loans fall into five primary types.
SBA 7(a) loans
CDC/SBA 504 loans
Traditional commercial mortgages
Bridge loans
Hard money loans.
Interest rates on commercial real estate loans are generally on the higher side and fluctuate regularly. Typically they range from 5% to 15% on commercial mortgages.
Commercial real estate loan terms typically range from 5 to 20 years. Having said that, SBA 7(a) loans have a maximum repayment term of 25 years for commercial real estate, CDC/504 loans have a maximum term of 20 years.
This really depends on the type of loan you decide to go for, down payments on commercial properties can range from 10% to 50% and even more.
If you are planning to purchase an apartment building, a condominium or any multifamily residential complex, we are here to assist. In most cased, we can get a multifamily loan approved for you for 85% of the total value of the property. We are an apartment mortgage company offering a wide variety of financing options for apartment loans nationwide. We offer aggressively priced apartment loans. Our company has partnered with Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, HUD, FHA, REITs, Conduit, banks, and selective institutional investors. We are an apartment mortgage solution provider offering highly customized solutions to help meet the investment needs and requirements of our clients.
Whether you need a purchase loan for multifamily apartments or an apartment loan refinance we can help you by providing the lowest possible rates and a hassle free process. Our goal is to make the process of getting your multifamily loan quicker and easier than ever. We provide the most comprehensive apartment financing programs available. Whether you’re looking for a conduit, traditional, or stated income apartment loan, we will meet both your individual and professional investment objectives. We can help you in getting:
Low rates for apartment purchase loans or to refinance apartment loans
Up to 85% financing for apartments and multifamily properties of all types
Terms for fixed rates from 5 – 7 years
Apartment Loan amortization up to 25 years in some cases
Low and flexible prepayment penalties with the ability to buy down the term
Low overall loan costs and -0- due diligence fees!
Loan Amounts from $500,000 to $50,000,000
Our Lending Programs:
Small apartment loans – Multifamily mortgages ($1-$5 Million)
Mid-balance apartment loans – Multifamily mortgages ($5-$25 Million)
Large apartment loans – Multifamily mortgages (No Maximum)
A hard money loan is mainly based on the value of the property as collateral and typically you can get a loan up to 70 percent of the property value. If you are tight on schedule and looking for a quick loan process with minimum paperwork. Hard money loans are the way to go (almost same as you are purchasing with cash). They have relatively high interest rates and costly fees compared to conventional loans. Hard money loans do serve a purpose to those who need money fast.
Hard Money Loans range from $50,000 to millions of dollars. Terms vary but you can have very short terms up to three years with a variety of upfront costs and an interest rate that is typically higher than subprime rates.
Look for the best possible interest rates
Do you research on initial payment terms
If you have a commercial financing need, Our company has a program for you. Whether you desire to purchase, refinance, or construct a commercial building, we are your best source for financing.
Adjustable Rate mortgage (ARM) also called as variable-rate mortgage is a mortgage loan where payments will fluctuate over time. The initial interest rate will be lower than that of a fixed rate mortgage; however, changes in the market could result in increased interest rates, which will ultimately effect the monthly payments.
For borrowers whose income may go up, an adjustable rate mortgage might be the best option because of early lower payments. Some loans are fixed for a certain period of time, and then they turn into adjustable-rate loans. For example, a 3/1 ARM loan offers a fixed-rate for the first three years, adjusting once a year thereafter. A 5/1 ARM loan offers a fixed-rate for the first five years, adjusting yearly thereafter.
In ARM, the interest rate on the note is periodically adjusted based on an index which reflects the cost to the lender of borrowing on the credit markets. Among the most common indexes are:
The 11th District Cost of Funds Index
The Treasury Bill Index
London Interbank Offered Rate (LIBOR) based indexes
Constant Maturity Treasury (CMT)
For the borrower, adjustable rate mortgages may be less expensive, but at the price of bearing higher risk. Many ARMs have “teaser periods”, which are relatively short initial fixed-rate periods (typically one month to one year) when the ARM bears an interest rate that is substantially below the “fully indexed” rate. The teaser period may induce some borrowers to view an ARM as more of a bargain than it really represents. A low teaser rate predisposes an ARM to sustain above-average payment increases.
Balloon mortgage is most commonly used for commercial mortgage. Balloon mortgage payments does not fully amortize over the term of the note, the last payment includes all remaining interest and unpaid principal, and often comes to quite a large total. This introduces a certain amount of risk, but they can be quite beneficial if the borrower is anticipating immediate cash flow for his/her business venture. Balloon mortgage loans are a good product for people looking for a lower interest rate.
Adjustable rate mortgages are sometimes confused with balloon payment mortgages. The difference is that a balloon payment may require refinancing or repayment at the end of the period (if you are unable to repay the entire balance); some adjustable rate mortgages do not need to be refinanced, and the interest rate is automatically adjusted at the end of the applicable period. Balloon payments are often pre packaged into what are called “two-step mortgages.” In this type of mortgage, the balloon payment is rolled into a new or continuing amortized mortgage at the prevailing market rates.
Balloon mortgages are most popular with 2nd mortgage notes, such as a 30 year amortized note due in 15 years (30/15). The monthly payment with a 30-year amortization will be lower than if the property is financed with a 15-year mortgage. The interest rate for the five or seven-year period may be lower than the rate for a 30-year fixed rate mortgage. The goal with a balloon payment mortgage is to obtain a low, fixed monthly payment with the plan of selling the property at a profit before the balloon payment is due. You can also refinance your balloon mortgage prior to its maturity and obtain a new fully amortizing loan.
An interest-only loan is a mortgage loan in which the borrower pays only the interest on the principal balance, for a set period of time. Principal balance remains unchanged during the set term. At the end of the interest-only term the borrower has many options, such as:
may enter an interest-only mortgage
convert the loan to a principal and interest payment (or amortized) loan
Buying equipment becomes urgent as businesses strive to move forward. We understand the difficulty people run into when the need for additional equipment becomes urgent. Purchasing new and expensive equipment for your business can be a daunting task. No business can exist without proper equipment. If you prefer to own your equipment, our loan programs have flexible structures. Organizations can buy new equipment on lease terms after finding the required money for expanding their company. This financing solution helps entrepreneurs find the required equipment for their business or enterprise.
Cash flow is the blood line for any business. We are experts at delivering equipment finance solutions exceeding the needs of our customers through our industry knowledge, tailored products and services, and financial strength.
Our specialties include:
All Types of Equipment Financing
Non-Rated Credits
Variety of End-of-Lease Options
Simple Financing Application
We provide equipment financing for:
Capital Markets
Construction
Diversified Industries
Franchise Finance
Healthcare
Homecare
Agriculture
Manufacturing
Specialty Markets
The SBA offers numerous loan programs to assist small business owners to start, manage and grow their businesses. Here are some of the most popular SBA loan programs:
SBA Express Program
Lower Interest Rates – Rates can be fixed or variable and are tied to the prime rate (as published in The Wall Street Journal), LIBOR, or the optional peg rate (published quarterly in the Federal Register), but they may not exceed SBA maximums
Flexible repayment options and longer terms than traditional loans
Borrow up to $350,000
Maximum SBA Guaranty is 50%.
Quick Turnaround – May receive a response to your application in less than 2 days.
Use the funds for working capital, equipment, inventory, or real estate purchases, or to expand facilities
SBA Patriot Express Pilot Loan
Loans for veterans and members of the military community wanting to establish or expand small businesses.
Can be used for a variety of proceeds including: Start up costs, Equipment purchases, Business-occupied real-estate purchases, Inventory, Managing your existing business…
Smaller credit requests, allowing expedited and streamlined application process
Line of credit or term loan up to $500,000
7(a) General Small Business Loans
Ideal for businesses that may not meet the conventional lending collateral or cash flow requirements
Often provide longer terms than conventional lending
Proceeds can be used to provide long-term working capital to use to pay operational expenses, accounts payable and/or to purchase inventory or to purchase equipment, machinery, furniture, fixtures, supplies or materials or to construct a new building or refinance existing business debt or even to establish a new business.
SBA guarantee limited to $1.5 million, $5 million maximum on the loan amount
Real Estate & Equipment Loans: CDC/504
This program is designed to provide financing for the purchase of fixed assets, which usually means real estate, buildings and machinery, at below market rates.
Applicant has a tangible net worth less than $15 million and an average net income less than $5.0 million after taxes for the preceding two years.
Provides growing businesses with long-term financing for purchasing land, constructing new buildings, expanding facilities, or purchasing long-term machinery and equipment
No working capital permitted
Maximum 504 debentures sizes: $5 million for regular loans; $5 million for public policy loans; $5.5 million for small manufacturer loans
Every business needs capital to conduct it’s day to day activities and having access to funds when you need them is critical especially for small businesses. Business financing is the process of providing/arranging funds to small business for business activities, payroll, inventory, new equipment purchases, expansion or investing.
We provide mortgage solutions tailored for businesses in almost every industry – from small businesses looking for startup capital to existing companies looking to expand to the next level. Our loan products have a simple and speedy application process, clear pricing & terms and flexible payment options so that small businesses can obtain the capital they need at the earliest.
There are two main types of financing available for businesses: debt financing and equity financing. Debt financing is a business loan that comes from banks, government loan programs, or anyone you can convince to lend you money. Over time, you’ll repay the lender the money you have borrowed, plus the agreed interest. Debt financing is the most common type of financing for businesses, especially those who are just starting out. You may have to do some leg work but getting a loan is still easier than finding investors for your newly started business.
Equity financing is where a business offers a percentage of the company, known as shares, in exchange for money.
Whether you’re just starting out, looking to smoothly run your current business, or planning to expand, we work with you every step of the way, understand your unique requirements to find financing solutions that suit your business’s individual circumstances.
We have a long and reliable working relationship with a complete range of lenders nationwide. We have the ability to provide the borrower with a wide range of financing opportunities to help achieve their long term goal. Below is broad category list of the commercial property types we work with:
Apartment / Multifamily Loan
5 – 20 Units
21+ Units
Construction Loan
New
Renovation
Healthcare / Medical Loan
Assisted Living
Congregate Care
Hospital
Independent Living Facility
Medical Clinic
Rehabilitation Center
Skilled Nursing Facility
Hotel / Motel Loan
Full Service Hotel
Limited Service Hotel
Resort Hotel
Suite Hotel
Convention Hotel
Flagged Motel
Independent Motel
Industrial Building Loan
Manufacturing
Office-Warehouse
Research & Development
Warehouse / Multi-Tenant
Warehouse / Single-Tenant
Office Building Loan
Business Condos
High Rise Building
Medical
Suburban
Single-Tenant Building
Other
More Commercial Loans for
Auto Malls / Dealerships
Church
Condos / PUDs / Co-ops
Gas Stations
Golf Courses
Historic Rehabs
Marina / Dockominiums
Mini Storage
Mixed-Use Projects
Mobile Home Parks
Parking Garages
Restaurant (Real Estate based)
Adjustable Rate Mortgage: Mortgage where the interest rate adjusts periodically up or down through a set index. Also called a floating rate mortgage.
Adjusted Gross Income: Gross income of a building if fully rented, less an allowance for estimated vacancies.
Adjustment Interval: The period of time between changes in the interest rate for an adjustable-rate mortgage. Typical adjustment intervals are one year, three and five years.
Amortization: The process of paying the principal and interest on a loan through regularly scheduled installments.
Annual Percentage Rate (APR): This is the actual rate of interest your loan would be if you included all of the other associated costs such as closing costs and points.
Apartment Conversion: When a rental apartment building is converted to individually owned units.
Apartment Rehabilitation: Extensive remodeling of an older apartment building.
Appraisal: An estimate of the value of a property, made by a qualified professional called an appraiser.
ARM: See Adjustable Rate Mortgage.
Assumable Loans: Loans that can be transferred to a new owner if a home is sold.
Balloon (Payment) Mortgage: Usually a short-term fixed-rate loan which involves small payments for a certain period of time and one large payment for the remaining principal balance, due at a time specified in the contract.
Basis Points (BP): 1/100th of 1% expressed as margin over index rate.
BC & D Lender or Loan: The term BC & D is a rating of the loan. We refer to BC & D as “problem or troubled” credit rather than using these letters.
Bond Financing: Type of financing that is a promise to repay the principal along with interest on a specified date.
Buydown: the process of paying additional points on the loan to reduce the monthly mortgage. There are typically two specific types: a Permanent Buydown, and a Temporary Buydown. In a Permanent Buydown, a sufficient amount of interest is prepaid to lower the rate permanently. In a Temporary Buydown, only a sufficient interest is paid to lower the payment for the first three years. The reason to Temporarily Buydown, a loan is to lower the current payments thereby more easily qualifying for the loan. This usually makes sense because income will usually continue to increase as the interest does. The most common Temporary Buydown is called 3-2-1, meaning three percent lower the first year, two percent lower the second year, and one percent lower the third year.
Bridge Loan: Financing which is expected to be paid back relatively quickly, such as by a subsequent longer – term loan. Also called a swing loan.
Cap: The maximum which an adjustable-rate mortgage may increase, regardless of index changes. An interest rate cap limits the amount the interest can change, while a payment cap limits the increase in monthly payment to a specific dollar amount.
Cap Rate: A net yield set by an investor to determine the value of an income producing property.
Capital Expenditures: Line items on a profit and loss statement that would not be expensed on an annual basis. This category would include replacement of major building systems, such as roofs, driveways, etc.
Capitalization Rate: A method used to estimate the value of a property based on the rate of return on investment.
Closing: The meeting between the buyer, seller and lender (or their agents) where the property and funds legally change hands. Also referred to as “settlement”.
Closing Costs: The cost and fees associated with the official change in ownership of the property and with obtaining the mortgage, that are assessed at the closing or settlement.
Commercial Conduit: Direct link to an institutional lending source.
Comparative Market Analysis: An estimate of the value of a property based on an analysis of sales of properties with similar characteristics.
Conduit: The financial intermediary that sponsors the conduit between the lender(s) originating loans and the ultimate investor. The conduit makes or purchases loans from third party correspondents under standardized terms, underwriting and documents and then, when sufficient volume has been obtained, pools the loans for sale to investors in the CBMS markets.
Convertible: An option available on some adjustable rate mortgages (ARM’s) that allows the loan to be converted to fixed rate mortgage. Conversion usually involves paying a one-time fee and conversion may be limited to within a certain time – frame.
Cosigner: Someone who is willing to sign a mortgage loan obligation with you in case you default on your monthly payments. Normally, the cosigner is required to go through the same application and approval process as the original signer of the loan.
Credit Company: A lending organization that obtains its source of funds from the commercial market.
Credit Enhancements: A loan to provide improvements to the property.
Credit Report: A search through your existing credit history by a qualified credit bureau to determine if, and the number of times, you may have been delinquent making monthly payments on previous debts. Even when a credit report is for the most part positive, many lenders require written explanation for any negative comments within the credit report. This type of report is usually required to obtain a mortgage loan.
Debt Service Coverage Ratio (DSC): A 1.0 means breakeven. The ratio is calculated by taking the net operating income and dividing it by the mortgage payments. Most lenders look for a ratio of 1.25 or higher.
Debt Service: The periodic payments (principal and interest) made on a loan.
Debt Ratio: One of several financial calculations performed by your lender to determine if you can afford a particular monthly payment. The debt ratio (also known as the obligations ratio) is the sum of all your monthly debt payments including your total monthly mortgage payment divided by your total monthly income. Typically acceptable debt ratios for Conventional Loan are 36 – 38%, FHA Loans are 41 – 43%, and VA Loans Are 41%.
Discount Rate: Many lenders may offer you a lower “teaser” rate on an adjustable rate mortgage for the first adjustment period. After this period is over, the lender will adjust your loan according to the normal lender’s margin rate.
Down – Payment: The amount of money you put down, normally anywhere from 5 – 25%.
Due Diligence: The legal definition: a measure of prudence, activity or assiduity, as is properly to be expected from, and ordinarily exercised by, a reasonable and prudent person under the particular circumstances. In CMBS: due diligence is the foundation of the process because of the reliance securities investors must place on the specific expertise of the professionals involved in the transaction.
Engineering Report: Report generated by an architect or engineer describing the current physical condition of the property and its major building systems, i.e., HVAC, parking lot, roof, etc. The report also determines an amount for calculating replacement reserves, if needed.
Environmental Report: Report generated by a qualified environmental firm to determine potential environmental hazards in a building’s region or within the building itself.
Environmental Risk: Risk of loss of collateral value and of lender liability due to the presence of hazardous materials, such as asbestos, PCB’s, radon or leaking underground storage tanks (LUSTS) on a property.
Equity:
1.The difference between the fair market value and current indebtedness, also referred to as “owner’s interest”.
2. The difference between the amount owed on the loan and the current purchase price of the home or property
Equity Capital: Capital raised from owners. In a commercial real estate case, a lender will also provide equity capital for a percentage of ownership.
Escrow:
1. A special account set up by the lender in which money is held to pay for taxes and insurance.
2. A third party who carries out the instructions of both the buyer and seller to handle the paperwork at the settlement.
Fair Market Value: An appraisal term for the price which a property would bring in a competitive market, given a willing seller and willing buyer, each having a reasonable knowledge of all pertinent facts, with neither being under any compulsion to buy and sell.
Fannie Mae: A congressionally chartered corporation which buys mortgages on the secondary market from Banks, Savings & Loans, Etc; pools them and sells them as mortgage-backed securities to investors on the open market. Monthly principal and interest payments are guaranteed by FNMA but not by the U.S. Government.
FHA: Federal Housing Administration, a government agency.
Fixed Rate Mortgage: A mortgage with an interest rate that remains constant for the life of the loan. The most common fixed-rate mortgage is repaid over a period of 30 years; 15-year fixed-rate mortgages are also available.
Floating Rate Mortgage: See Adjustable Rate Mortgage.
Floor – To – Area Ratio (FAR): The relationship between the total amount of floor space in a multi – story building and the base of that building. FAR’s are dictated by zoning laws and vary from one neighborhood to another, in effect stipulating the maximum number of stories a building may have.
Foreclosure: The process by which a lender takes back a property on which the mortgagee had defaulted. A servicer may take over a property from a borrower on half of a lender. A property usually goes into the process of foreclosure if payments are no more than 90 days past due.
Forward Commitment: A written promise from a lender to provide a loan at a future time.
Freddie Mac (Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation): Entity buys loans from conventional lenders and packages them for sale to investors as securities.
Government Loans: One of two loan types called FHA or VA loan. These loans are partially backed by the government and can help veterans and low-to-moderate income families afford homes. The advantages of these types of loans are that they often have a lower interest rate, are easier to qualify for, have lower down-payment requirements, and can be assumed by someone else if the home is sold. Many mortgage bankers can obtain these types of loans for you.
Graduated Payment Mortgages: A type of mortgage where the monthly payments start low but increases by a fixed amount each year for the first five years. The payment shortfall or negative amortization is added to the principal balance due on the loan. The advantages if this type of loan is a lower monthly payment at the beginning of the loan term. These disadvantages are typically a slightly higher rate than traditional fixed rate mortgage loans and lenders usually require a larger down payment. In addition, the negative amortized amount increases the balance due on the total loan which can be a problem if the value of the home declines.
Gross Income: Total income, before deducting taxes and expenses. The scheduled (total) income, either actual or estimated, derived from a business or property.
Growing Equity Mortgage: A type of mortgage where the monthly payments start low but increase by a fixed amount each year for the entire life of the loan as compared to five years with a Graduated Payment Mortgage. The advantage of this type of loan is that the loan can usually be paid off in a shorter duration than a traditional fixed rate loan. The disadvantage of this loan is that the payment continues to go up irrelevant of the income of the borrower.
Hard Equity: High interest rate financing.
Housing Ratio: One of several financial calculations performed by your lender when applying for a conventional loan to determine if you can afford a particular monthly payment. The housing ratio(also known as the income ratio) is your total monthly payment including taxes and insurance divided by your total monthly income. Typically acceptable housing ratios for Conventional Loans are 28 – 33% and FHA Loans are 29 – 31%.
HUD: Housing and Urban Development, a federal government agency.
Index: An economic indicator, usually a published interest rate, that determines changes in the interest rate of an adjustable – rate mortgage. ARM rates are adjusted to reflect changes in the index. The margin is the amount a lender adds to the index to establish the actual interest rate on an ARM.
Interest: The sum paid for borrowing money, which pays the lender’s costs of doing business.
Interest Rate: The sum charged for borrowing money, expressed as a percentage.
Interest Rate Cap: Limits the interest rate or the interest rate adjustment to a specified maximum. This protects the borrower from increasing rates.
Interest Shortfall: The aggregate amount of interest payments from borrowers that is less than the accrued interest on the certificate.
Investment Banker: An individual or institution which acts as an underwriter or agent for corporations and municipalities issuing securities, but which does not accept deposits or make loans. Most also maintain broker/dealer operations, maintain markets for previously issued securities, and offer advisory services to investors also called investment bankers. See also bank, commercial bank, and originator, syndicate.
Jumbo (Non – Conforming) Loans: A mortgage loan that exceeds the amount that is acceptable by the government if the loan were to be resold (on the secondary market) to Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Usually, loans with a face value greater than $227,150 (as of 1/1/98).
Lease Assignment: An agreement between the commercial property owner and the lender that assigns lease payments directly to the lender.
Leasehold Improvements: The cost of improvements for a leased property. Often paid by the tenant.
Lender Margin: This is simply the profit the lender expects to receive from the loan. You can ask your lender what the margin is on an adjustable rate mortgage. Typically, lenders use a discount rate initially as a “teaser” rate. You must be sure to get the normal margin after the discount period is over.
Lines of Credit: An arrangement in which a bank or vendor extends a specified amount of unsecured credit to a specified borrower for a specified time period.
Loan origination Fee: The fee charged by a lender, to prepare all the documents associated with your mortgage.
Lock – In: The process of fixing the interest rate for a specific period of time irrelevant of future or impending economical changes to the interest rate. This process may require a fee or premium as it reduces your risk that the monthly payments will change while the loan paperwork is filed.
Lock – Out Period: A period of time after loan origination during which a borrower cannot prepay the mortgage loan.
London Interbank Offered Rate (LIBOR): The short – term rate (1 year or less) at which banks will lend to each other in London. Commonly used as a benchmark for adjustable – rate financing.
LTV: Loan to Value: Proposed loan amount divided by the value of the property.
Margin: The amount that is added to an index rate to determine the total interest rate.
Maturity:
1. The termination period of a note (e.g., a 30 – year mortgage has maturity of 30 years.)
2. In sales law, the date a note becomes due.
Mezzanine: Late-stage venture capital financing.
Miniperm: Short term permanent financing, usually 3 to 5 years.
Mortgage Banker: An entity that makes loans with its own money and then sells the loan to other lenders.
Mortgage Broker: An entity that arranges loans for borrowers.
Mortgage Insurance: A type of insurance changed by most lenders to offset the risk of your loan when your down payment is less than 20% of the value of the home.
Mortgage Reduction Programs: A type of Accelerated payment program whereby payments are made more frequently usually bi – weekly or weekly rather than the traditional monthly payment. Making more frequent and accelerated payments reduces the amount of principal more quickly which interest accumulation is based on. The net effect can be a savings on the total interest paid
Multi – Family Property Class A: Properties are above average in terms of design, construction and finish; command the highest rental rates; have a superior location, in terms of desirability and / or accessibility; generally are professionally managed by national or large regional management companies.
Multi – Family Property Class B: Properties frequently do not possess design and finish reflective of current standards and preferences; construction is adequate; command average rental rates; generally are well maintained by national or regional management companies; unit sizes are usually larger than current standards.
Multi – Family Property Class C: Properties provide functional housing; exhibit some level of deferred maintenance; command below average rental rates; usually located in less desirable areas; generally managed by smaller, local property management companies; tenants provide a less stable income stream to property owners than Class A and B tenants.
Negative Amortization: Occurs when interest accrued during a payment period is greater than the scheduled payment and the excess amount is added to the outstanding loan balance (e.g., if the interest rate on ARM exceeds the interest rate cap, then the borrower’s payment will be sufficient to cover the interest accrued during the billing period – the unpaid interest is then added to the outstanding loan balance).
Net Effective Rent: Rental rate adjusted for lease concessions.
Net Operating Income (NOI): Total income less operating expenses, adjustments, etc., but before mortgage payments, tenant improvements and leasing commissions.
Net – Net Lease (NN): Usually requires the tenant to pay for property taxes and insurance in addition to the rent.
Notice of Default (NOD): To initiate a non – judicial foreclosure proceeding involving a public sale of the real property securing the deed of trust. The trustee under the deed of trust records a Notice of Default and Election to Sell (“NOD”) the real property collateral in the public records.
Non – Recourse: A finance term. A mortgage or deed of trust securing a note without recourse allows the lender to look only to the security (property) for repayment in the event of default, and not personally to the borrower. A loan not allowing for a deficiency judgment. The lender’s only recourse in the event of default is the security (property) and the borrower is not personally liable.
Operating Expense: Periodic expenses necessary to the operation and maintenance of an enterprise (e.g., taxes, salaries, insurance, maintenance). Often used as a basis for rent increases.
Participation: A type of mortgage where the lender receives a percentage of the gross revenue in addition to the mortgage payments.
Percentage Lease: Commonly used for large retail stores. Rent payments include a minimum or “base rent” plus a percentage of the gross sales “overage.” Percentages generally vary from 1% to 6% of the gross sales depending on the type of store and sales volume.
Phase I: An assessment and report prepared by a professional environmental consultant who reviews the property – both land and improvements – to ascertain the presence or potential presence of environmental hazards at the property, such as underground water contamination, PCB’s, abandoned disposal of paints and other chemicals, asbestos and a wide range of other potentially damaging materials. This Environmental Site Assessment (ESA) provides a review and makes a recommendation as to whether further investigation is warranted (a Phase II Environmental Site Assessment). This latter report would confirm or disavow the presence of any mitigation efforts that should be undertaken.
PITI: Principal, interest, taxes and insurance. Your calculated estimate of monthly payments.
Points: Loans fee paid by the borrower. One point is 1% of the loan amount.
Prepayment Penalty: A Change for paying off a loan before it is due.
Pre – qualification: The process of determining the amount of money a particular lender will let you borrow. You should strive to obtain pre-qualification with at least two or three lenders.
Prime Rate: An artificial rate set by commercial bankers. Many banks will use the Wall Street Prime rate. This is a rate set by the top lending banks in the country.
Principal:
1. The amount of debt, not including interest, left on a loan.
2. The face amount of the mortgage.
Property Appraisal: A report showing exactly how much the particular home
Property Classification: Most lenders will classify a property by its age and needed maintenance. As an example many insurance companies will only loan on properties that are class A, meaning that the properties age is 10 years old or less and is not in need of repair.
Property Tax: Taxes based on the market value of a property. Property taxes vary from state to state.
Rate Index: An index used to adjust the interest rate of an adjustable mortgage loan (e.g., the changes in U.S. Treasury securities (T-bill) with 1-year maturity. The weekly average yield on said securities, adjustable to a constant maturity of 1 year, which is the result of weekly sales, may be obtained weekly from the Federal Reserve Statistical Release H.15 (519). This change in interest rates is the “index” for the change in a specific Adjustable Mortgage Loan).
Recourse: A loan for which the borrower is personally liable for payment is the borrower defaulting.
REIT (Real Estate Investment Trust): Pooled funds that purchase and hold commercial real estate.
Refinance: The renewal of an existing loan by some borrower.
Rent Step – Up: A lease agreement in which the rent increases every period for a fixed amount of time or for the life of the lease.
Replacement Reserves: Monthly deposits that a lender may require a borrower to reserve in an account, along with principal and interest payments for future capital improvements of major building systems; i.e., HVAC, parking lot, carpets, roof, etc.
Reserve Funds: A portion of the bond proceeds that are retained to cover losses on the mortgage pool. A form of credit enhancement (also referred to as “reserve accounts”).
Residual Income: The amount of money left over after you have paid all of your ordinary and necessary debts including the mortgage. This calculation is typically used with VA loans.
Sale / Leaseback: When a lender buys a property and leases it back to the seller for an extended period of time.
Savings & Loans: A federally or state chartered financial institution that takes deposits from individuals, funds mortgages, and pays dividends.
SBA: Small Business Administration, a federal government agency.
Second Mortgage: A mortgage on real estate, which has already been pledged as collateral for an earlier mortgage. The second mortgage carries rights, which are subordinate to those of the first.
Secondary Financing: A loan secured by a mortgage or trust deed, in which the lien is junior, or secondary, to another mortgage or trust deed.
Secondary Mortgage Market: The buying and selling of first mortgages or trust deeds by banks, insurance companies, government agencies, and other mortgagees. This enables lenders to keep an adequate supply of money for new loans. The mortgages may be sold at full value (“par”) or above, but are usually sold at a discount. The secondary mortgage market should not be confused with a “second mortgage.”
Spread: Number of basis points over a base rate index.
Standby Commitment: A formal offer by a lender making explicit the terms under which it agrees to lend money to a borrower over a certain period of time.
Structural Report: (see Engineering Report)
Tax & Insurance Impound: Monthly deposits that a lender may require to be included with principal and interest payments for the payment of taxes and insurance.
Tenant Improvements (TI): The expense to physically improve the property to attract new tenants to new or vacated space which may include new improvements or remodeling. May be paid by the tenant, landlord, or both. Typically, tenants are provided with a market rate TI allowance ($/sq. ft.) that the owner will contribute towards improvements. The tenant must pay for amounts above the TI allowance desired by the tenant.
Term: The length of a mortgage.
Title: The actual legal document conferring ownership of a piece of real estate.
Title Insurance: An insurance policy which insures you against errors in the title search – essentially guaranteeing your, and your lender’s, financial interest in the property.
Triple – Net Lease: A lease that requires the tenant to pay for property taxes, insurance and maintenance in addition to the rent (also referred to as ” Net Net Net Lease”).
Underwriting: The process of deciding whether to make a loan based on credit, employment, assets and / or other factors.
Uniform Residential Loan Application (1003): This application, also called a URL – 1003 is the standard loan application used by all lenders.
Underwriter: The underwriter is the lender or company who actually provides the money for you loan. A mortgage broker “brokers” and represents several different underwriters and depending on your situation they choose the “best” underwriter for you and your lender.
Upfront Fees: Generally refer to fees charged to pay for third party costs like appraisals.
VA (Veterans Administration) Loan: A type of government loan administered by the Veterans Administration. Eligibility for VA loan is restricted and limited to qualifying veterans, and to certain home types. You need to check with the VA to determine if you qualify. The maximum VA Loan is $184,000.
Workouts: Attempts to resolve a problematic situation, such as a bad loan.
Yield Maintenance: A prepayment premium that allows investors to attain the same yield as if the borrower made all scheduled mortgage payments until maturity. Yield maintenance premiums are designed to make investors indifferent to prepayments and to make refinancing unattractive and uneconomical to borrowers.
Yield To Average Life: Yield calculation used, in lieu of “Yield to Maturity” or “Yield to Call,” where books are retired systematically during the life of the issue, as in the case of a “Sinking Fund,” with contractual requirements. Because the issuer will buy its own bonds on the open market to satisfy its sinking fund requirement if the bonds are trading below Par, there is, to that extent, automatic price support for such bonds; they therefore tend to trade on a yield – to – average – life basis.
Yield To Maturity (YTM): Concepts used to determine the rate of return an investor will receive if a long – term, interest – bearing investment, such as a bond, is held to its maturity date. It takes into account purchase price, redemption value, time to maturity, coupon yield and the time between interest payments. Recognizing time value of money, it is the discount rate at which the present value of all future payments would equal the present price of the bond (also referred to as “internal rate of return”). It is implicitly assumed that coupons are reinvested at the YTM rate. YTM can be approximated using a bond value table (also referred as a “bond yield table”) or can be determined using a programmable calculator equipped for bond mathematics calculations.
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Calculate Mortgage Payments on Commercial Real Estate Properties
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Current Mortgage Rates
6.141% |
| 6.238% | |
6.967% |
| 7.035% | |
6.104% |
| 6.176% | |
6.689% |
| 6.736% |
Current Commercial Mortgage Rates
Commercial Mortgage Loan Providers | Rates |
Freddie Mac Optigo | 6.39% – 8.01% |
Fannie Mae | 6.49% – 7.81% |
HUD 223(f) | 6.25% – 7.30% |
CMBS | 6.46% – 7.95% |
Regional Banks/Credit Unions | 6.95% – 10.50% |
Life Insurance Companies | 6.21% – 7.11% |
Debt Funds | 9.07% – 15.32% |
HUD 221(d)(4) | 6.85% – 7.90% |
Note: The range of commercial mortgage rates should be considered typical. However, there are outliers on the high and low end of the range. Thus, these figures do not guarantee actual rates on a specific commercial mortgage deal. To see which options you qualify for & get the best deal you can we recommend contacting a commercial mortgage broker who can help you see what you qualify for.
Running a new or old business? Coming up with strategic plans to achieve your goals is a must. But besides all the careful planning, you need enough working capital to jumpstart your operations. This is important whether you’re establishing a new company or getting ready for expansion.
As your business grows, it’s crucial to find the appropriate commercial property that can accommodate your needs. This is where securing a commercial mortgage can help. It saves money on rising rental expenses and reduces your overall cost structure. In the long run, this provides financial leeway for your business, especially during unfavorable economic periods.
In this guide, we’ll detail how commercial real estate loans work and how to qualify for this type of mortgage. You’ll learn about commercial loan terms, its payment structure, and rates. We’ll also discuss various sources of commercial real estate loans, as well as different options available in the market.
What is a Commercial Mortgage?
A loan secured by business property is called a commercial mortgage. It is used to purchase commercial property, develop land, or a building. This type of mortgage is also used to renovate offices and refinance existing commercial loans. Examples of property that use commercial mortgages include apartment complexes, restaurants, office buildings, industrial facilities, and shopping centers.
Commercial mortgages are commonly offered by banks and credit unions. They are also provided by insurance companies and independent investors. As for government-backed commercial loans, you may obtain Small Business Administration (SBA) loans to finance a business venture.
Commercial real estate financing is similar to traditional home loans. Lenders provide borrowers with money which is secured to your property. But instead of acquiring a primary residence or vacation home, commercial loans are designed to help you own business property. Commercial loan funds are also used as capital to start a business or expand its operations.
In summary, companies use commercial mortgages to accomplish the following goals:
Develop or renovate an owner-occupied business
Buy their own commercial property
Obtain land development investments
Acquire buy-to-let premises and lease them out
Commercial loans take a smaller fraction of the real estate market. Despite this fact, they remain significant financing tools for economic development. Commercial mortgages help companies acquire business property, improve its service, and implement expansion. In contrast, residential mortgages receive further government backing, making them more liquid than commercial loans. Meanwhile, commercial properties remain essential income-producing assets for economic growth.
Personal Guarantee on Commercial Loans
Business owners must personally guarantee a commercial mortgage if they don’t have enough credit to secure financing. Credit requirements are based on the risk assessment conducted by a lender.
Once you sign a personal guarantee, you tie your private assets to a commercial loan. And because it is an unsecured contract, a lender can take any of your assets as debt repayment. This allows them to seek monetary compensation in case you default on your loan. It’s a risky move, especially if you’re operating on thin margins. As a rule, try to secure enough credit before taking a commercial loan.
Commercial mortgages come in short terms of 3, 5, and 10 years. Others stretch as long as 25 years. But in general, commercial mortgage terms are not as long as most residential loans, which is usually 30 years.
When it comes to the payment structure, expect commercial loans to vary from the traditional amortization schedule. A lender asks a borrower to pay the full loan after several years with a lump sum payment. This is called a balloon payment, where you pay the total remaining balance by the end of the agreed term.
For instance, a commercial loan has a balloon payment due in 10 years. The payment is based on a traditional amortization schedule such as a 30-year loan. Basically, you pay the first 10 years of principal and interest payments based on the full amortization table. Once the term ends, you make the balloon payment, which pays off the remaining balance in the mortgage.
Furthermore, you have the option to make interest-only payments in a commercial loan. This means you do not have to worry about making principal payments for the entire term. Likewise, once the loan term is through, you must settle any remaining balance with a balloon payment.
In some cases, commercial lenders offer fully amortized loans as long as 20 or 25 years. This is how certain Small Business Administration loans are structured. And depending on the commercial loan and lender, some large commercial mortgages may be given a term of 40 years.
To understand how commercial payments work, let’s review this example. Let’s presume your commercial real estate loan is $2.5 million with 9 percent APR, with a loan term of 10 years. Let’s use the calculator on top of this page to estimate your monthly payment, interest-only payment, and total balloon payment.
Commercial loan amount: $2,500,000
Interest rate: 9% APR
Term: 10 years
Payment Type | Amount |
Principal and Interest payment | $20,155.80 per month |
Interest-only payment | $18,787.00 per month |
Balloon payment | $2,240,215.07 |
According to the results, your monthly commercial mortgage payment will be $20,155.80 for 10 years. If you choose to make interest-only payments, it will only be $18,787.00 per month. Once the 10 years is up, you must make a balloon payment of $2,240,215.07 to pay off your remaining balance.
What If You Can’t Make the Balloon Payment?
Sometimes, you might not be able to make a balloon payment on your commercial mortgage. If you’re worried about lack of funds, refinance before the end of the term. Start asking about refinancing at least a year before the term ends. This will save you from foreclosure and losing your lender’s trust. If you default on your loan, it spells bad news for your credit history, making it difficult to get approved for future commercial loans.
Commercial refinancing is basically taking out a new mortgage. It will help you restructure your payment into an amount you can afford. It also allows you to lower your interest rate and take a workable payment term. To refinance, you must also meet lender qualifications. Lenders conduct background checks on your personal and business credit history. They will also ask how long you’ve had the property.
Commercial loan rates are often slightly higher than residential mortgages. It is usually around 0.25 percent to 0.75 percent higher. If the property needs more active management such as a motel, the rate can increase. Depending on the establishment and type of financing, commercial mortgage rates typically range between 1.176 percent up to 12 percent.
Commercial real estate loans are fairly considered illiquid assets. Unlike residential mortgages, there are no organized secondary markets for commercial loans. This makes them much harder to sell. Thus, higher rates are assigned for purchasing commercial property.
Lenders tie their commercial loans to several different types of indexes. An index is an indicator or statistical measure of change in market securities. Some of the most popular indexes used for commercial mortgages and adjustable rate loans are the prime rate and LIBOR. Commercial loans rates are also determined by U.S. Treasury Bonds and swap spreads.
This is the average of the prime rates offered by banks to other banks. The prime rate is also offered to the most creditworthy borrowers. Lenders adjust prime rates depending on market conditions. If your commercial loan is indexed to a prime rate, it generally means the rate is based on your lender’s individual prime rate.
LIBOR stands for the London Interbank Offered Rate. It is one of the most widely used benchmarks for indexing interest rates all over the world. LIBOR is the rate used by London banks to lend funds to one another. It is also the rate used by banks that lend in the inter-bank market for short-term loans. LIBOR is based on estimates submitted by leading global banks. The calculation is headed by the ICE Benchmark Administration, which estimates 35 LIBOR rates for various financing products daily.
Bonds are an important component of the commercial mortgage market. They establish the limit on how much lenders and banks can charge for real estate loans. In particular, the 10-year Treasury note is a type of bond that impacts mortgage rates. It’s auctioned and backed by the U.S. Government, which means it’s more secured compared to high-risk corporate bonds. Moreover, the 10-year Treasury bond is one of the benchmarks for commercial mortgages and residential loans. How the real estate market performs is dependent on 10-Year Treasury yields, which sets the standard for loan prices.
A common type of spread used in commercial real estate loans are swap spreads. A swap spread shows the difference between the swap rate (fixed interest rate) and the corresponding government bond yield (sovereign debt yield) of similar maturity. For the U.S., the sovereign debt yield would be the U.S. Treasury security. Swap spreads measure the likelihood of how interest rates will rise.
The tables below show commercial mortgages indices with corresponding yield and swap rates (July 27, 2020):
U.S. Treasury Bonds
Tenor | Yield | Swap |
Y1 | 0.16% | 0.55% |
Y3 | 0.17% | 0.24% |
Y5 | 0.28% | 0.33% |
Y7 | 0.45% | 0.44% |
Y10 | 0.63% | 0.62% |
LIBOR
Tenor | Yield | Swap |
M1 | 0.16% | n/a |
M3 | 0.26% | n/a |
M6 | 0.33% | n/a |
Y1 | 0.47% | 0.60% |
Prime
Tenor | Yield | Swap |
n/a | 3.25% | n/a |
SOFR – Secured Overnight Financing Rate
Tenor | Yield | Swap |
n/a | 0.12% | n/a |
The next table indicates commercial mortgage rates from different lending sources in 2020 & 2022:
Commercial Mortgage Loan Providers | 2020 Rates | 2020 Midpoint | 2022 Rates | 2022 Midpoint | Midpoint % Change |
Freddie Mac Optigo | 3.20% – 4.82% | 4.01% | 4.59% – 6.51% | 5.55% | 38.40% |
Fannie Mae | 3.25% – 4.26% | 3.76% | 4.55% – 6.08% | 5.32% | 41.54% |
HUD 223(f) | 2.35% – 2.75% | 2.55% | 4.10% – 5.00% | 4.55% | 78.43% |
CMBS | 2.81% – 4.58% | 3.70% | 4.49% – 6.60% | 5.55% | 50.07% |
Regional Banks/Credit Unions | 3.11% – 5.25% | 4.18% | 4.75% – 7.50% | 6.13% | 46.53% |
Life Insurance Companies | 3.00% – 5.00% | 4.00% | 4.00% – 5.54% | 4.77% | 19.25% |
Debt Funds | 4.42% – 10.07% | 7.25% | 6.12% – 12.37% | 9.25% | 27.61% |
HUD 221(d)(4) | 3.15% – 3.40% | 3.28% | 4.70% – 5.60% | 5.15% | 57.25% |
Note: The range of commercial mortgage rates should be considered typical. However, there are outliers on the high and low end of the range. Thus, these figures do not guarantee actual rates on a specific commercial mortgage deal. The above chart shows data from the middle of 2020 and early August 2022 so you can see how changing credit conditions can impact various options.
There are many sources of commercial financing in the market. Commercial loans are offered by banks, credit unions, insurance companies, and government-backed lenders. Private investors also lend commercial mortgages but at much higher rates.
The right kind of commercial loan for your business depends on the loan features you need. You must also factor in your business strategy, the type of commercial property, and your credit availability.
Below are several common types of commercial loans and where you can obtain them:
Business loans provided by FDIC-backed enterprises such as banks and credit unions are called conventional commercial mortgages. These are used for owner-occupied premises and investment properties. Conventional commercial loans are the kind that require a personal guarantee. During the underwriting process, they also need to check your global cash flow and your personal and business income tax returns.
A commercial mortgage is referred to as a “permanent loan” when you secure your first mortgage on a commercial property. Personal loans are typically amortized for 25 years. But for buildings with significant wear and tear, or properties over 30 years old, they may only grant a commercial loan for 20 years.
Permanent loans are known for their low rates compared to other types of commercial financing. The rates are low because they typically guarantee property that’s already developed and almost fully rented.
Owner-occupied Business vs. Investment Property
For developing an owner-occupied business, you are required to use 51 percent of the property. If you cannot meet this requirement, you should secure an investment property loan. Investment property loans are more appropriate for business owners who want to purchase property and lease them for extra profits. You can also use this to flip and sell old houses.
A conduit loan, also called a commercial mortgage backed security (CMBS) loan, is a kind of commercial real estate loan backed by a first-position mortgage. Conduit loans are pooled together with a diverse set of other mortgages. Then, they are placed into a Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduit (REMIC) trust and sold to investors. Each sold loan carries a risk equivalent to its rate of return. This type of loan is also used for properties such as retail buildings, shopping malls, warehouses, offices, and hotels.
Conduit loans can provide liquidity to real estate investors and commercial lenders. They are package by conduit lenders, commercial banks, and investment banks. These loans usually come with a fixed interest rate and a balloon payment by the end of the term. Some lenders also allow interest-only payments. Conduit loans are amortized with 5, 7, and 10-year terms, as well as 25 and 30-year terms.
The Small Business Administration (SBA) offers guaranteed commercial loans to qualified applicants. The SBA is a federal agency dedicated to aid businesses in securing loans. They help reduce default risk for lenders and make it easy for business owners to access capital. The SBA does not lend directly to borrowers, but offer financing through partner lenders, micro-lending institutions, and community development organizations.
There are two common types of SBA loans, the SBA 7(a) loan and the SBA 504 loan.
SBA 7(a) financing is used for developing owner-occupied business property. If you’re looking to build a new commercial establishment or renovate an old office, this can work for you. Likewise, a business is eligible for an SBA 7(a) loan if they occupy more than 50 percent of the property. An SBA 7(a) loan may guarantee up to 85 percent of the loan amount if the mortgage is $150,000. If you need a higher loan amount, the SBA can guarantee up to 75 percent.
This loan can be taken as a fixed-rate mortgage, a variable-rate mortgage, or as a combination of the two. SBA 7(a) loans fully amortize and typically paid up to 25 years. Moreover, the maximum rate for this type of financing is dependent on the current prime rate.
Qualified borrowers can secure up to $5 million from an SBA-backed lender. SBA 7(a) loans are available in fully amortized loans of up to 20 or 25 years.
Business owners can use SBA 7(a) loans to:
Expand a business
Establish or acquire a business
Fund inventory
Purchasing equipment and machinery
Renovate or construct buildings
Refinance existing business debt unrelated to the property
Another popular SBA commercial mortgage is the SBA 504 loan. It’s geared toward borrowers who utilize over 50 percent of their existing commercial property. This type of mortgage is structured with 2 loans: One part of the loan must be financed with a Certified Development Company (CDC) which accounts for 40 percent of the loan amount. The other part should be financed by a bank that will provide 50 percent of the loan amount.
With an SBA 504 loan, you can obtain up to f $5.5 million from your CDC lender. On the other hand, you can secure up to $5 million from the bank lender. You can use this type of loan to secure larger financing compared to an SBA 7(a) program. SBA 504 loans come with a fully amortized payment structure with a term of up to 20 years.
Borrowers can make use of SBA 504 loans to fund the following business goals:
Invest in equipment
Build or upgrade existing facilities
Purchase existing land or buildings
Develop land – parking, landscapes, streets
Refinance debt associated with business expansion, including new or old property and equipment
Borrowers who are unable to secure commercial loans usually have a history of foreclosure or a short sale on a loan. When this happens, they can turn to private investors for hard money loans.
Hard money loans are granted by private lenders as long as you have sufficient equity signed as a collateral for the loan. This type of financing comes in short terms, such as 12 months up to 2 years. If you’re looking for short-term financing to move your business or reconstruct your establishment, you can take advantage of this type of loan.
However, take caution. Private investors can be critical when it comes to repayment. They may also perform background checks on your credit. They base loan approval on property value without heavy reference to creditworthiness. Furthermore, hard money loans usually demand a higher interest rate of 10 percent or more compared to traditional commercial mortgages.
Hard Money Loan Risks
If your lender notices you’re not producing the agreed income, they might cut your financing. Some private lenders may even seize assets signed as collateral till they see proof of return of investment. Keep these risks in mind before you sign up for a hard money loan. If you really must take it, make sure you have enough funds to cover all your bases.
Bridge loans are similar to hard money loans though they can last up to 3 years and the interest rate tends to be slightly lower – in the 6% to 10% range. Both bridge and hard money loans are typically interest-only loans.
Commercial loan approval depends on your creditworthiness as a business owner. When a lender grants a loan, they trust that your company will produce enough profits to pay back the mortgage. That said, a commercial lender can only approve your loan after carefully reviewing your financial status.
Main Qualifications for Commercial Lending
Lenders refer to three main types of requirements before approving a commercial mortgage. These qualifications include your business finances, personal finances, and the property’s characteristics. They also check your personal and business credit score. Commercial lenders review your accounting books to verify if you have enough cash flow to repay the mortgage.
Apart from your finances, commercial underwriters also evaluate your company profile and your business associates. They will even assess your business plan and check the company’s projected earnings based on your goals. Due to this strict underwriting process, many new companies have a hard time getting their loan approved.
Make sure to meet the following requirements when you apply for a commercial loan:
Lenders assess your business credit score to gauge the appropriate interest rate, payment term, and down payment required for your loan. A higher credit score gives you greater chances of securing a commercial loan approval.
There are three primary credit agencies that assess business credit scores. The following are three main types of business credit scores classifications used by lenders:
FICO LiquidCredit Small Business Scoring Service (FICO SBSS score) – This credit system ranges from 0 to 300, with 300 being the highest. The minimum required FICO SBSS score is 140 for a Small Business Administration loan pre-screen. But generally, 160 is more preferred by lenders.
Dun & Bradstreet PAYDEX Score – This business credit system has a scale between 1 to 100, with 100 being the best possible score. Scores between 80 and 100 are considered low risk, increasing your company’s credibility to lenders. So aim for a high credit score of 80.
Experian Business Credit Score – This scoring system ranges from 0 to 100. Zero represents the highest risk, while 100 indicates the lowest risk. For Experian, a credit score between 60 to 100 is classified with medium to low risk. A score of 80 and above is well preferred by lenders.
When it comes to your personal credit score, get ready with a high credit rating. Most commercial lenders prefer borrowers with a FICO score not lower than 680. But to increase your chances of securing a commercial loan, aim for a score of 700.
Make sure you’ve saved up a large down payment. Commercial lenders typically require 20 to 30 percent down payment to secure a loan. Other lenders may even request for a 50 percent down payment.
Lenders prefer businesses that have been running for at least 2 years. This is possible if you have an excellent credit history, both for your business and personal finances. But in many cases, you have higher chances of getting approved if your business is older.
A small business is required to occupy 51 percent of the property or more than half of the premises. If you are unable to meet this criteria, you cannot qualify for a commercial mortgage. You should consider applying for an investment property loan instead.
Investment Property Loans
Investment property loans are appropriate for rental properties. Borrowers use them to buy commercial property and rent them out for extra profit. Investment property loans are also used by house flippers who renovate and sell houses in the market.
Commercial lenders evaluate three major ratios before approving a mortgage. This helps them further assess the risk profile of your loan. The three types of ratios are as follows:
LTV ratio is the percentage between the loan value and the market value of the commercial property securing the loan. A mortgage is considered a high-risk loan if the LTV ratio is high. Lenders typically accept 60 to 80 percent LTV for commercial loan borrowers. If you have a high risk loan, your lender usually assigns a higher interest rate.
The accepted LTV ratio depends on the type of property. For instance, 65 percent LTV is approved for land development. On the other hand, up to 80 percent LTV is usually approved for construction loans and multi-dwelling units. In some cases, lenders offer non-conforming commercial loans for borrowers who need a larger mortgage. Non-conforming commercial loans can provide 90 percent financing to qualified borrowers.
To calculate LTV, use the equation below:
LTV = Loan amount / Appraised value of asset
Let’s suppose you have a property worth $850,000 with commercial loan amount of $595,000. Your LTV ratio will be 70 percent.
= 595,000 / 850,000
= 0.7
= 70%
DSCR estimates your company’s available cash flow. This is essentially the money that pays for your company’s current debt obligations. DSCR is calculated by dividing the annual total debt service with your annual net operating income (NOI). The total annual debt service is the amount borrowers use to pay the principal and interest of a commercial mortgage.
Preferred DSCR for Commercial Loans
A good DSCR range for companies is between 1.15-1.35. Most commercial lenders require a DSCR of 1.25 for approval.
The debt ratio is evaluated to make sure commercial loan borrowers are not weighed down with personal debt. To estimate debt ratio, divide your personal monthly debt by your monthly income.
In instances where the commercial property is not enough to service the loan, lenders use a global cash flow analysis. Global cash flow analysis is calculated by adding the profits generated by the property and the borrower’s income. By assessing this indicator, a lender can come up with an appropriate coverage for the commercial loan.
Is debt-to-income (DTI) ratio evaluated? Commercial lenders rarely check DTI ratio because they are more focused on the business property’s income and costs.
Processing paperwork for a commercial mortgage application is often a slow and taxing process. Lenders require many legal documents that contain extensive financial information.
Get ready with the following documents when you apply for a commercial mortgage:
Income tax returns – up to 5 years
Third-party appraisal on the property
Proof of citizenship (if needed)
Your business credit report
Your associates’ credit reports
Any leases
State certification as a limited liability entity
Books accounting the last 5 years of your business, or since it started
Business plan – states how the property will be used, details the strengths of the business, etc.
How Long Does the Processing Take?
It typically takes around 93 days or 3 months from application to closing. This is the median time for most commercial loan applications. For construction loans, the processing time can even take up to 6 months. And compared to residential mortgages, commercial loans take a lot longer to close.
Besides gathering a significant down payment, you should prepare your finances for other expenses associated with closing a loan. Refer to the following commercial loan fees below:
Underwriting Fees
Commercial lenders pay a fee for the time their staff dedicate to underwriting and processing a loan request. This typically costs around $500 to $2,500. That fee must be stated in the term sheet and is usually paid upfront or via deposit once the loan term is implemented.
Lender’s Origination Points
Most banks and credit unions charge 0.25 to 0.5 of the loan amount for origination fees. For independent lenders, it can be 2 percent or higher because of the higher risk involved.
Appraisal Fees
Expect appraisal cost to be anywhere between $1,000 to $10,000. Large-scale commercial projects can even cost between $10,000 to $25,000 for appraisal.
Third-party appraisal is commonly done to analyze and estimate the value of the commercial property. Though it’s not strictly imposed, appraisal is commonly practiced by many private lenders. Third-party appraisal is especially required for federally-backed commercial real estate exceeding a value of $500,000.
Title Insurance Policy
Title search and insurance costs around $2,500 to $15,000. This protects the lender from financial losses in case there are claims against the property’s title.
Property Inspections
Inspections evaluate the actual condition of your property. The cost is determined by the size of your property, which is around $0.03 to $0.10 per square feet.
Environmental Report
Inspecting a land or building for environmental issues is a required step in securing commercial financing. A Phase 1 environmental report typically costs around $2,000 to $6,000.
Broker’s Fee
You only need to worry about this cost if you use a broker or third-party platform. For commercial loans $5,000,000 and below, the hovering broker fee is around 1 percent to 1.5 percent of the loan amount. Brokers can add a lot of value to the process by getting you the best rate and keeping things running smoothly so you are not surprised by a lender which backs out.
There are many similarities between residential mortgage requirements and commercial real estate loans. Both need satisfactory credit scores, credit background checks, and the right down payment amount to secure financing. However, there are many differences between these two loans.
First, commercial mortgages require a stricter underwriting process. It also takes a lot longer compared to the average residential loan. Next, commercial mortgages entail higher costs compared to residential loans. They also usually have a higher interest rate compared to housing loans.
To detail the differences between commercial loans and residential mortgages, we came up with the table below:
Loan Details | Commercial Mortgage | Residential Mortgage |
Borrower | Business entity | Individual borrower |
Government sponsorship | SBA and USDA loans are backed by the government *Other banks, credit unions, insurance companies, and private lenders do not offer government-backed loans | Conventional loans are backed by Freddie Mac and Fannie May FHA, USDA, and VA are government-backed loans |
Payment terms | 3 to 7 years for short-term commercial mortgages Can be 10-25 years for extended loans | 15 or 30 years are common Also in 10 and 20 year terms Fixed-rate loans are common but adjustable rate options are available |
Interest rates and credit score | Creditworthiness is based on: income, personal credit history, business financial statements, company profile, collateral, business plan, projected earnings, etc. Required personal FICO score: 680, but 700 is preferred Business credit score: FICO SBSS – 140 PAYDEX – 80 and up Experian – 80 and up Government-backed loans: SBA 504 loans: 2.231%-3.546% APR SBA 7(a) loans: 5.50%-11.25% (July 21, 2020) | Rates depend on borrowers’creditworthiness Ex. 30-year fixed mortgage FICO score 760-850: 2.727% APR FICO score 700-759: 2.949% APR FICO score 680-699: 3.126% APR FICO score 660-679: 3.340% APR FICO score 640-659: 3.770% APR FICO score 620-639: 4.316% APR (July 27, 2020) |
Loan-to-value ratio | Between 60%-80% LTV LTV is specified by the lender Depends on the type of commercial property | Conventional: 95% LTV FHA: 96.5% LTV USDA: 100% LTV VA: 100% LTV |
Down payment | Typically between 20%-30% May sometimes be 50% Some lenders may allow 10% | Conventional: average of 10% FHA: minimum of 3.5% USDA: no down payment required VA: no down payment required |
Closing time | Most take up to 3 months Construction loans can take 6 months Longer to close than residential loans | Conventional: 30-45 bus. days FHA: 10-60 business days USDA: 30-45 business days VA loans: 40-50 business days |
There are many similarities between residential mortgage requirements and commercial real estate loans. Both need satisfactory credit scores, credit background checks, and the right down payment amount to secure financing. However, there are many differences between these two loans.
First, commercial mortgages require a stricter underwriting process. It also takes a lot longer compared to the average residential loan. Next, commercial mortgages entail higher costs compared to residential loans. They also usually have a higher interest rate compared to housing loans.
To detail the differences between commercial loans and residential mortgages, we came up with the table below:
Looking for a favorable commercial mortgage deal can get overwhelming. But by doing enough research, you can find a loan option that works for you. Here are several tips you should take note of before obtaining a commercial loan:
Shop Around for Different Commercial Loans – Don’t rely on a single commercial lender. Instead, contact at least three different loan providers. Business lending is very subjective. This means your eligibility is determined by someone who may or may not be fair. The more options you have, including both banks and non-bank lenders, the more likely you are to get approved. You can also choose the most favorable deal from your options.
Beware of Scammers – Why would anyone pretend to be a direct commercial lender? Sadly, scammers charge exorbitant application fees without the intent of approving a loan. If for any reason, you find a direct lender suspicious, look for another loan provider. For your safety, it’s better to contact reputable commercial lenders like banks, insurance companies, or credit unions.
Take Advantage of Your Deposit Relationship – If your company generates a high cash flow, you can use the promise of a deposit relationship to get a better deal. Promise to transfer all of your accounts to the bank that handles your business real estate. Smaller banks will especially appreciate the additional cash flowing into their coffers.
Lenders Must Order The Appraisal – Never let a mortgage broker talk you into letting them order the appraisal. Only the lender can do that. By law, a bank won’t be able to accept it.
Wait For the Term Sheet – A term sheet is a written declaration of interest by a direct commercial lender that comes with an estimate of the terms. While it is not binding, it is a very desirable document to have. Don’t agree to pay for an appraisal until you see a term sheet that holds details that are acceptable to you.
Consider the Location – Location is equally important when it comes to choosing a lender for business real estate. As a rule of thumb, local lenders offer better deals than out-of-town lenders.
Filing a Toxic Report – If you default on your loan and the lender forecloses your property, provide a Level 1 toxic report. In case the property is a toxically-impaired building, the lender is strictly liable for the cleanup costs. Toxic reports are done by an environmental engineering firm. They investigate properties for any evidence of contamination that may be harmful to occupants. A typical Level 1 toxic report costs $1,800 and $3,000.
Commercial real estate loans are essential financing tools that aid business growth. Small and large businesses can qualify for commercial financing to jump-start their company or upgrade their operations. They can use it as capital to renovate commercial property and even purchase business equipment.
But unlike residential mortgages, commercial loans require a large down payment, which is at least 20 percent of the commercial property’s value. Other lenders may require up to 50 percent down payment. They also impose more stringent credit background checks on your business and personal finances. For these reasons, a commercial mortgage takes longer to process than residential loans.
Despite the long process, securing a commercial loan is vital for many businesses. It help companies acquire commercial property to avoid paying rent. In the long-term, if you own your business property, you can avoid rising rental expenses and lower your cost structure. This gives you a financial cushion during harsh economic downturns that negatively impact your profits.
No matter the industry, all businesses need money to operate. Funds can be used toward business needs such as equipment, hiring additional employees, buying equipment, or paying for an office. However, when a business doesn’t have enough money on hand to handle expenses, it can use business financing to continue operating.
Growing a business is one of the most rewarding things you can do, but it’s not without its challenges. Truth be told, even with an airtight business plan and a dream team by your side, success largely depends on your ability to finance the venture. And, understandably, you’re now wondering about the different types of business finance.
That’s why having access to the right financing options and funding sources can often mean the difference between success and failure.
In this article, we explore everything you need to know about business loans and financing. We’ll discuss the different types of funding, their pros and cons, and the main sources of funding for a business.
Business financing is a funding option for business owners to be able to pay for things like expansion projects, inventory and equipment, and seasonal spikes in activity. There are several different types of business financing available, but each type of financing may be better for some purposes than others.
There are several ways your business can obtain financing. This includes taking out loans, selling stocks or bonds, using personal savings, and so on.
Obtaining business loans for small business may involve turning to traditional bank loans. This type of loan can prove to be a slower and more difficult option for business owners. The application process usually requires a credit inspection, a business plan/industry risk, and collateral.
Additionally, approval can take up to 30 days or more, even if the business has good credit and provides collateral.
Every business, at some point in its lifecycle, will need funding. Sometimes at multiple points. Consider the following examples:
An established company wants to expand into new markets, develop new products, or buy up a competitor.
A struggling company needs help to get back on track.
A small business wants to meet a sudden spurt in demand.
In any of these cases, business funding is the glue that binds the objective to the desired outcome. It’s what allows an established business to gain new market footholds, and a struggling one to keep from going belly-up.
Now that you know what business financing is and its key benefits, let’s turn our attention to the various types of business funding. As we’ll see, debt and equity are the two most common types of funding for a small business, but there are other sources of funding for businesses too.
Debt financing is the most common type of financing available to small and mid-size businesses (SMBs). Debt is simply money borrowed from outside of the company that must be repaid with interest over time. It’s used to make investments, increase working capital, or purchase fixed assets like equipment or real estate.
Debt offers many advantages. For one, it lets companies raise large amounts of cash with little or no equity investment from their owners.
Debt financing interest rates are also typically lower than those for equity investments. That’s because banks are more willing to take on risk than individual investors.
For instance, a bank may be willing to lend money at an interest rate of 3%, while an angel investor might require 15% or more annually for an equity stake in your company. Most importantly, lenders want repayment rather than ownership in your business.
Sources
Debt can be in the form of bank loans, lines of credit, bonds issued by corporations and governments, or notes payable to shareholders. Other debt sources of financing for small businesses include suppliers, trade finance, supply chain finance, etc.
Pros
You retain full control of your business
Interest rates are typically lower than equity investments
Interest rates are tax-deductible
Flexible loan terms
Access to funds when you need them
Cons
Repayment terms are often fixed
Repayment starts immediately
Debt is often collateralized against your assets
Can lead to a revolving door of debt
Differing from traditional lenders, one way to receive financing for an existing business is by selling shares of it to investors. This is known as equity financing, which can come either from an angel investor (a wealthy individual who helps fund startups) or an investment firm.
When you choose equity financing, the people or firms that invest in your company become part owners.
Equity financing also refers to a type of business financing whereby a company raises money by selling ownership shares. Despite being a time- and labor-intensive process, equity financing is the best option for businesses that don’t want to take on debt.
For example, if a car dealership wishes to expand, they can receive capital from an investor in exchange for a certain amount of ownership in the business. This is known as an “equity investment” or “share capital investment”.
Note that investors use this type of financing as an opportunity to make money. They typically receive dividends at regular intervals—either quarterly or annually—based on the company’s profits.
This type of financing is best used for high-growth potential startups, businesses with innovative ideas, and expansion plans.
Sources
Equity financing is typically obtained through less traditional routes than debt financing. This includes venture capitalists, angel investors, crowdfunding—even your family and friends. An initial public offering (IPO) is another way to secure equity through the stock exchange.
Pros
Access to a large pool of capital
Does not require repayment
Flexible spending
Frees up cash flow
Lower risk than debt
Increased credibility when backed by reputed investors
Potential for industry connections and networking opportunities
Cons
Loss of control over your business or ownership dilution
Profits shared with investors
Raising equity can be time-consuming and resource-intensive
Investor ROI can cost more than debt repayment
Conflicts of interest can arise
Legal liabilities associated with selling company shares
Revenue financing is another common type of business financing. It can be obtained through loans, a credit card, or invoice factoring. Revenue financing is also referred to as “working capital financing”.
Basically, it’s the process of obtaining money from a provider by using your business’s future revenue as collateral. You can think of it as a form of debt financing in which the provider agrees to give you a loan if your business proves it will have enough cash flow to pay it back with interest.
Revenue financing can be used for many purposes, like buying new equipment and supplies, or paying off existing debt.
Sources
Revenue-based sources of financing for business include specialized lenders, alternative lenders (such as trusted online lenders), private investors, and certain government programs.
Pros
Easy to obtain if your revenue stream is good
Solves cash flow problems until payments for goods/services are rendered
Flexible, since it can be paid off over time and is based on projected growth
You retain control of your company
Potentially lower cost of capital
Cons
Your cash flow needs to be high enough to cover repayments
Potentially higher cost of capital
Lease financing allows you to acquire the use of an asset without having to purchase it. There are two types of lease financing agreements:
Operating/Purchase Lease
This allows a company to use a piece of equipment or other physical asset for an agreed-upon period at a fixed monthly payment. This is typically used for short-term projects and doesn’t require a large down payment or long-term commitment.
Typically, you’ll cover all maintenance and repair costs while the owner is responsible for depreciation, insurance, and taxes.
Capital/Finance Lease
This type of lease allows a company to use an asset without having to pay the upfront costs associated with purchasing it. Instead, it allows them to pay for the asset over time and then own it after completing the contractual payments.
Sources
Sources of financing a business lease include equipment leasing companies, manufacturers, private investors, banks, and other financial institutions.
Pros
No need for a down payment
Equipment lease may be tax-deductible as a business expense
Potentially flexible payment schedules, loan terms, and end-of-lease options
Access to state-of-the-art equipment without a big initial investment
Cons
Higher total cost due to interest charges over time
No asset equity
Potential to incur additional fees (early termination, excess use, etc.)
Limited customization options
Mezzanine financing provides an alternative to bank loans. In fact, this source of business financing is commonly referred to as “middle-market” financing, since it falls somewhere between a traditional bank loan and private equity funding.
Mezzanine financing can be difficult to obtain. It’s typically given to businesses that (1) have demonstrated profitability, (2) have a high potential for growth, and (3) lack good credit or collateral.
Mezzanine lenders are willing to take on higher risk in exchange for higher interest rates. They want to earn more than they would from a typical commercial loan, but aren’t willing to fully back a project as an equity investor would do with an IPO.
Mezzanine loans typically range from $2 million to $100 million, depending on the size of your company and its capital needs. Terms can last from one year to five years, or even longer.
Sources
There are many ways to obtain this source of financing for business. This includes hedge funds, private equity firms, and even specialized mezzanine lenders.
Pros
Access to capital that may be harder to acquire otherwise
Flexible terms can be structured to meet the needs of both parties
Less ownership dilution than traditional equity financing
Interest paid may be tax-deductible
Cons
Higher interest rates associated with higher lender risk
Complex financing structure can lead to misunderstandings and difficulties negotiating
When considering financing options, many business owners turn to traditional bank loans as their initial financing choice. This type of loan can prove to be a slower and more difficult option for business owners.
The application process requires a credit inspection, a business plan/industry risk and collateral. Additionally, approval can take as long as 30 days or more, even if the business has good credit and provides collateral.
Traditional bank loans are best used for established businesses with solid credit history, long-term financing needs, or larger investment projects.
Sources
Traditional banks can be found just about anywhere, and if you decide to go this route, we recommend working with a bank you already have a relationship with.
Pros
Lower interest rates
Longer repayment terms
Established relationships with banks
Cons
Strict eligibility requirements
Lengthy approval process
Collateral or personal guarantees may be required
A personal loan can also be a good option for business financing. It’s an unsecured loan that you get from a bank or other financial institution. It typically isn’t intended for general business operations, but is rather designed to meet specific business needs. The average personal loan amount ranges between $35,000 – $40,000.
Sources
This type of loan may also be available from banks or other financial institutions with whom you have an established relationship.
Pros
Quick access to funding; fewer obstacles than traditional loans
Potentially lower interest rates (compared to SBA loans, lines of credit, merchant cash advances, etc.)
More flexible repayment terms
No collateral required
Can help you build good personal credit
Cons
You already need good credit if the personal loan is unsecured
Has the potential to incur other fees (origination fees, late fees, etc.)
Average loan amounts aren’t suited to big investments
Higher personal risk that can potentially worsen your credit score
Although small businesses play a vital role in the economy, business owners tend to struggle to get approved for bank loans. To encourage the growth of small businesses, the Small Business Administration (SBA) partners with lenders to partially guarantee small business loans.
There are several different types of SBA loans, including 7(a) loans, which can be used for many different purposes, CDC/504 loans for major purchases like real estate, and disaster loans.
These loans are best used for small businesses lacking collateral, startups, real estate or equipment purchases.
Sources
Businesses can obtain SBA loans from a variety of sources. These include traditional banks, credit unions, and online lenders. The SBA partners with these institutions to provide government-backed loans, designed to support small businesses with more flexible terms and lower interest rates.
Pros
Lower down payments
Longer repayment terms
Flexible use of funds
Cons
Extensive paperwork
Longer approval process
Strict eligibility criteria
Many businesses need a little extra money to handle a temporary, short-term need. In these types of situations, business owners often don’t want to be paying off a loan with high interest rates for years after the original need for the loan has been resolved.
Short-term loans offer small business owners the funding they need while avoiding lengthy loan applications and long repayment terms.
These types of loans are best used for businesses needing immediate working capital, bridging cash flow gaps, and covering unexpected expenses.
Sources
Businesses can secure short-term loans from online lenders, traditional banks, and credit unions. These loans are typically for a year or less and are designed to address immediate financial needs.
Pros
Quick access to funds
Flexible use of funds
Suitable for immediate financial needs
Cons
Higher interest rates
Frequent repayments
May require collateral
Many lenders require a valuable asset to be used as collateral to secure a loan during the application process. But many businesses don’t have the types of assets lenders look for and the business owner might not be comfortable with using personal assets like their home or vehicle.
Unsecured loans are a type of business loan that does not require the borrower to put up an asset to be used as collateral.
You can use these types of loans for small businesses lacking collateral, short-term financing needs, and investment in marketing or inventory.
Sources
These loans, which don’t require collateral, can be obtained from online lenders, peer-to-peer lending platforms, and some traditional banks.
Pros
No collateral required
Quick approval process
Flexible use of funds
Cons
Higher interest rates
Strict eligibility criteria
Smaller loan amounts
Not all business expenses require large loan amounts. Businesses seeking smaller loans are often turned down by banks because they aren’t seeking enough money.
To help fill the gap, many lenders have started offering microloans, which have loan amounts that are much smaller than traditional bank loans and come with shorter repayment terms. Microloans can be a good option for a new business or businesses that have low credit scores, no credit history, or have never received a loan from a bank before.
These loans are best used for startups, businesses with low credit scores, and purchasing equipment or inventory.
Sources
Microloans are often sourced from nonprofit organizations, community-based lenders, and online platforms. The SBA also offers a microloan program for small businesses and startups.
Pros
Small loan amounts
Suitable for startups or low-credit businesses
Mentorship and support
Cons
Higher interest rates
Limited loan amounts
Stricter repayment terms
When you have to wait for customers to pay their invoices, you have less working capital available in your bank account to cover day-to-day business expenses. While your customers may appreciate not having to pay immediately, this is the money used to take care of your business.
Invoice factoring allows business owners to turn their outstanding invoices into money they can use right away. This is done by selling those invoices to a third party, known as a factor, at a discounted rate. The factoring company then collects the full amounts of the invoices from your customers. Invoice financing is another small business financing option similar to invoice factoring.
The difference between the two is that while invoice factoring involves selling your outstanding invoices, invoice financing is a loan based on the value of your invoices.
You can use invoice factoring for businesses with outstanding invoices, seasonal businesses, and improving cash flow.
Sources
Businesses can get invoice factoring from specialized factoring companies or alternative online lenders that offer this service to improve cash flow.
Pros
Quick access to cash flow
Suitable for businesses with outstanding invoices
No collateral required
Cons
Lower advance rates
Possible impact on customer relationships
Fees involved
Whether it’s desks and computers or specialized tools and machinery, all types of businesses need equipment.
Although many types of general business loans can be used for equipment, some loans are specifically intended to be used for purchasing equipment. Since equipment loans can be secured with the equipment itself, borrowers do not need to provide any extra collateral.
Businesses can use this type of loan if they need to purchase or upgrade equipment, and in industries reliant on specialized machinery.
Sources
Traditional banks, credit unions, and online lenders provide equipment loans specifically for the purchase or lease of business equipment.
Pros
Specific use for equipment purchase
Longer repayment terms
Equipment serves as collateral
Cons
Higher interest rates
Potential for equipment obsolescence
May require down payment
If a business that typically has a high volume of credit card transactions needs some extra funding fast, one way to get it is through a merchant cash advance.
Technically, a merchant cash advance is not a loan, it is a purchase of future receivables from your credit card revenue. Since this is a transaction rather than a loan, they are an option for businesses that have a hard time getting traditional business loans because of a bad credit score.
These are best used for retailers, restaurants, businesses with high credit card sales, and short-term cash flow needs.
Sources
This type of financing is available from alternative lenders and specialized financial companies that provide advances based on future credit card sales.
Pros
Quick access to funds
Flexible remittance structure
Suitable for businesses with consistent credit card sales
Cons
Higher rates
Daily or weekly remittances
Potential impact on cash flow
No matter how careful you are about managing your company’s finances, unexpected expenses can happen to anyone.
To make sure they’re ready to handle any unpredictable expenses that might come up, many business owners like to have a business line of credit available to them. Unlike a loan from a financial institution, which can only be borrowed against once, a line of credit can be borrowed against multiple times. The best part is, you only pay interest when you use it.
You can use a line of credit for businesses with fluctuating cash flow needs, covering operational expenses, and managing seasonal fluctuations.
Sources
Banks, credit unions, and online lenders offer business lines of credit, providing flexible access to funds as needed.
Pros
Flexibility to access funds as needed
Interest only on the amount used
Suitable for ongoing cash needs
Cons
Variable interest rates
Possible annual fees
Potential credit limit restrictions
Just like starting any other kind of business, becoming a franchisee takes money. You’ll need to pay for things like equipment, a location, marketing expenses, and inventory, not to mention your franchise fees. A franchise loan can help you get the money you’ll need to get started.
You can use franchise financing for startups or expansions, and businesses with established franchise partnerships.
Sources
Franchise financing can be obtained from traditional banks, online lenders, and sometimes directly from the franchisor.
Pros
Specialized financing for franchise businesses
Support from franchisors
Cons
Strict eligibility requirements
Potential limitations on franchise options
Franchise fees involved.
The right location can make a big difference in the success of your business, but most businesses aren’t able to pay for a real estate purchase all at once.
Instead of taking out a mortgage the way a person would to buy a house, businesses have many different real estate financing options available to them. These options include term loans, commercial real estate loans, and SBA loans.
This kind of financing is best used for businesses seeking to acquire or expand their property holdings, generate rental income, or utilize real estate assets as collateral for additional financing.
Sources
Commercial real estate loans are available from traditional banks, commercial mortgage lenders, and online lenders specializing in business property financing.
Pros
Long-term investment: Real estate provides potential for appreciation and rental income over time
Asset-backed financing: properties serve as collateral, making it easier to secure financing
Cons
High upfront costs: real estate purchases typically require substantial down payments and closing costs
Market volatility: real estate values can fluctuate, impacting potential returns on investment
Do you have a warehouse or storeroom full of inventory? Inventory financing is an option that allows you to use your unsold inventory to get the capital you need to help your business handle temporary, short-term cash flow shortages.
Inventory financing is best used for businesses that rely heavily on inventory, such as retailers, wholesalers, and manufacturers, to ensure consistent supply, manage cash flow, and support sales growth.
Sources
Businesses can secure inventory financing from traditional banks, online lenders, and specialized financial institutions that provide loans for the purchase of inventory.
Pros
Enables businesses to purchase necessary inventory and manage supply chain efficiently
Provides funds to cover inventory costs while waiting for sales and receivables
Cons
Financing inventory incurs interest expenses that can impact profitability
If inventory does not sell as anticipated, businesses may be left with excess or obsolete stock
Though far less traditional than other forms of financing, crowdfunding is a popular low-cost option for small businesses. Instead of taking out a loan or line of credit, businesses are funded by interested individual investors across the globe.
Business owners can exchange their own goods and products for investments, and can start the process right on the internet. This method is a good choice for those who are starting a new business because it can bring in money without interest rates, deliver market validation and widen the scope of customers.
Crowdfunding is best used for businesses with innovative ideas, creative projects, or social causes that resonate with a wide audience.
Sources
Crowdfunding platforms like Kickstarter, Indiegogo, and GoFundMe provide a way for businesses to raise funds from a large number of people, typically in exchange for rewards or equity.
Pros
Crowdfunding provides an alternative funding source, especially for startups or businesses with limited options
Campaigns create buzz, attract attention, and help build a customer base
Cons
Planning, creating, and promoting a crowdfunding campaign requires significant time and effort
Not all crowdfunding campaigns succeed, and there is no guarantee of reaching the funding goal
If your business requires funds that are flexible and terms that are shorter, a working capital loan may be the best option. This type of loan allows businesses to grow without the stress of spreading funds too thin.
A working capital loan requires businesses to have a 500+ credit score, 6+ months in business and $15,000+ average monthly bank deposits to be considered for approval with Credibly.
These are best used for businesses experiencing temporary cash flow shortages, seasonal fluctuations, or unexpected expenses.
Sources
Working capital loans can be obtained from traditional banks, credit unions, and online lenders. These loans are designed to finance the everyday operations of a company.
Pros
Working capital loans help businesses maintain liquidity and cover immediate financial needs
Funds can be used for various operational expenses
Giving businesses freedom to allocate resources as needed
Cons
Borrowing funds incurs interest expenses, which can impact profitability
Taking on additional debt increases the financial obligations and repayment responsibilities
Now that we’ve covered the different types of business funding and the sources of small business financing, let’s explore the six-step process of deciding which option is best for you.
Before you even begin to consider the various types of funding for small businesses, determine your funding needs. Start by creating a solid business plan outlining your objectives, competitors, customer demographic, and financial projections over the coming years.
Doing so will give you a bird’s eye view of your business, allowing you to assess the type of financing you’ll need. For example, bank loans are a great way to get money fast, but a line of credit may be a more efficient and flexible long-term solution.
As we’ve seen, there are many available sources of business funding. Traditional sources include banks and the Small Business Administration (SBA). Alternate lenders also exist, which we discuss at length below.
No funding option is perfect. Take the time to seriously consider the pros and cons of all types of business funding models.
For instance, self-funding may be easy to obtain, but could put your personal assets at risk. Likewise, friends and family may be a good source of funding for a business, but it could strain relationships if you’re not able to repay the loan.
All business funding types are subject to their own cost structure. Some options, such as grants or self-funding, may not involve any costs at all, while others (like venture capital or small business loans) may involve high fees or interest rates.
Once you’ve settled on the optimal types of business funding sources, you’ll have to find the right lender. Each lender will have their own loan terms and conditions.
For instance, some venture capitalists may ask for a substantial stake in your business, while others might want a seat on your board of directors. Remember, the devil is in the details here.
There are many similarities between residential mortgage requirements and commercial real estate loans. Both need satisfactory credit scores, credit background checks, and the right down payment amount to secure financing. However, there are many differences between these two loans.
First, commercial mortgages require a stricter underwriting process. It also takes a lot longer compared to the average residential loan. Next, commercial mortgages entail higher costs compared to residential loans. They also usually have a higher interest rate compared to housing loans.
To detail the differences between commercial loans and residential mortgages, we came up with the table below:
Looking for a favorable commercial mortgage deal can get overwhelming. But by doing enough research, you can find a loan option that works for you. Here are several tips you should take note of before obtaining a commercial loan:
Shop Around for Different Commercial Loans – Don’t rely on a single commercial lender. Instead, contact at least three different loan providers. Business lending is very subjective. This means your eligibility is determined by someone who may or may not be fair. The more options you have, including both banks and non-bank lenders, the more likely you are to get approved. You can also choose the most favorable deal from your options.
Beware of Scammers – Why would anyone pretend to be a direct commercial lender? Sadly, scammers charge exorbitant application fees without the intent of approving a loan. If for any reason, you find a direct lender suspicious, look for another loan provider. For your safety, it’s better to contact reputable commercial lenders like banks, insurance companies, or credit unions.
Take Advantage of Your Deposit Relationship – If your company generates a high cash flow, you can use the promise of a deposit relationship to get a better deal. Promise to transfer all of your accounts to the bank that handles your business real estate. Smaller banks will especially appreciate the additional cash flowing into their coffers.
Lenders Must Order The Appraisal – Never let a mortgage broker talk you into letting them order the appraisal. Only the lender can do that. By law, a bank won’t be able to accept it.
Wait For the Term Sheet – A term sheet is a written declaration of interest by a direct commercial lender that comes with an estimate of the terms. While it is not binding, it is a very desirable document to have. Don’t agree to pay for an appraisal until you see a term sheet that holds details that are acceptable to you.
Consider the Location – Location is equally important when it comes to choosing a lender for business real estate. As a rule of thumb, local lenders offer better deals than out-of-town lenders.
Filing a Toxic Report – If you default on your loan and the lender forecloses your property, provide a Level 1 toxic report. In case the property is a toxically-impaired building, the lender is strictly liable for the cleanup costs. Toxic reports are done by an environmental engineering firm. They investigate properties for any evidence of contamination that may be harmful to occupants. A typical Level 1 toxic report costs $1,800 and $3,000.
Just like there are many different types of funding a business can obtain, so too are there many sources of financing for a small business. Let’s look at some popular alternative options.
As the name implies, this requires you to figuratively pull yourself up by the bootstraps—meaning the funding will come from your personal savings or assets.
Friends and family members can be a reliable, low-interest source of funding. Of course, you’ll need to be especially considerate in devising terms both parties are happy with.
Sites like Kickstarter and Indiegogo are a great way to raise money from people interested in your product or service.
These are independently wealthy people who invest their own capital into your business, usually in exchange for a stake in it.
This refers to companies that invest venture capital into high-growth businesses in exchange for shares.
These are provided by governments for specific purposes. That said, there are many other types of organizations that offer grants.
The SBA is a government-backed organization that helps SMBs secure financing. This source of financing a business is designed for those that may not qualify for traditional loans.
These are small loans, typically in the range of $50,000 or less. They’re offered by microlenders to small businesses.
This is when a business sells its accounts receivable to a third party, known as a factoring company. The catch is that you have to sell at a discount in exchange for immediate cash.
Online lenders and peer-to-peer platforms offer business loans at competitive rates, without needing collateral.
Many online lenders are renowned for their extremely fast small business loan turnaround times. For example, Credibly helps businesses secure funding in mere days—saving you weeks of anxious waiting associated with transitional lenders
When it comes to business funding, the biggest hurdle most owners face is the application process. Not only is it painstaking, but you open up your business to financial scrutiny. Many lenders are, first and foremost, looking to partner with you, and approach your financial assessment from this standpoint.
Organizing and submitting the proper documentation is essential to secure a source of funding in business. Doing so will streamline your application and improve your odds of approval. Note that the type of financing you apply for will dictate the documentation needed. With this in mind, let’s look at a general list of documents you’ll need.
KYC documents
“Know Your Customer” or “Know Your Client” documents refer to a collection of identification demonstrating the legitimacy of you and your business. Potential lenders and investors rely on this to verify that your business is what it claims to be. In other words, that it isn’t a front for financial crimes like fraud or money laundering.KYC documentation includes things like passport, driver’s license, proof of address, and sometimes financial statements.
Business plan
A business plan is what enables lenders and investors to gauge the viability and potential of your business. It should formally outline your goals and how to achieve them. Include info about your offerings, target market, financial projections, marketing strategy, and anything else relevant to your business.
Financial statements
Your financial statements comprise a collection of reports that objectively demonstrate the historic performance of your business. Think balance sheet, income statements, business bank statements, and cash flow statements.Lenders and investors use these to assess the financial health of your business and assess your ability to repay the loan or investment.
Tax returns
Your business’ tax returns can provide a wealth of information about your financial history. Lenders and investors may request several years’ worth of tax returns to evaluate your financial stability and income history.
Legal documents
Legal documents include business registration certificates, licenses, and permits, as well as contracts with suppliers and customers. These documents provide evidence of your legal compliance and can demonstrate the stability of your business.
Collateral documentation
If you’re taking out a secured loan, you’ll need to supply collateral documents to the lender. This ensures that their money is protected in the event of a failure to repay the loan. Documents include anything from property deeds and titles to other assets with a value roughly equivalent to the loan amount.
Personal financial statements
If you’re a small business owner, lenders and investors may request personal financial statements. This includes things like your tax returns, bank statements, and credit reports. By reviewing your personal financial situation, they can better assess your ability to repay the loan/investment.
References
Some lenders and investors may request references from customers, suppliers, or business partners. These references provide additional evidence in support of your business’ stability and reputation.
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